President Donald J. Trump Approves Georgia Emergency Declaration


Office of the Press Secretary


October 11, 2018

President Donald J. Trump Approves Georgia Emergency Declaration

Yesterday, President Donald J. Trump declared that an emergency exists in the
State of Georgia and ordered Federal assistance to supplement State, tribal, and
local response efforts due to the emergency conditions resulting from Hurricane
Michael beginning on October 9, 2018, and continuing.

The President’s action authorizes the Department of Homeland Security, Federal
Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), to coordinate all disaster relief efforts
which have the purpose of alleviating the hardship and suffering caused by the
emergency on the local population, and to provide appropriate assistance for
required emergency measures, authorized under Title V of the Stafford Act, to
save lives and to protect property and public health and safety, and to lessen
or avert the threat of a catastrophe.

Specifically, FEMA is authorized to identify, mobilize, and provide at its
discretion, equipment and resources necessary to alleviate the impacts of the
emergency. Debris removal and emergency protective measures, including direct
federal assistance, will be provided at 75 percent Federal funding in the
counties of Baker, Bleckley, Burke, Calhoun, Colquitt, Crisp, Decatur, Dodge,
Dooly, Dougherty, Early, Emanuel, Grady, Houston, Jefferson, Jenkins, Johnson,
Laurens, Lee, Macon, Miller, Mitchell, Pulaski, Seminole, Sumter, Terrell,
Thomas, Treutlen, Turner, Wilcox, and Worth. Emergency protective measures,
limited to direct federal assistance will be provided at 75 percent funding in
the counties of Appling, Atkinson, Bacon, Baldwin, Ben Hill, Berrien, Bibb,
Brantley, Brooks, Bryan, Bulloch, Butts, Camden, Candler, Charlton, Chatham,
Chattahoochee, Clarke, Clay, Clinch, Coffee, Columbia, Cook, Crawford, Echols,
Effingham, Elbert, Evans, Glascock, Glynn, Greene, Hancock, Irwin, Jasper, Jeff
Davis, Jones, Lamar, Lanier, Liberty, Lincoln, Long, Lowndes, Marion, McDuffie,
McIntosh, Monroe, Montgomery, Morgan, Muscogee, Oconee, Oglethorpe, Peach,
Pierce, Putnam, Quitman, Randolph, Richmond, Schley, Screven, Stewart, Talbot,
Taliaferro, Tattnall, Taylor, Telfair, Tift, Toombs, Twiggs, Upson, Ware,
Warren, Washington, Wayne, Webster, Wheeler, Wilkes, and Wilkinson.

Brock Long, Administrator, Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA),
Department of Homeland Security, named Manny J. Toro as the Federal Coordinating
Officer for Federal recovery operations in the affected areas.